Week 6: Finish Line Physical Therapy, New York, NY

With state of the art equipment, young trainers, and a list of patients that range from rec warriors to triathletes, Finish Line (located on West 23rd between 6th and 7th ave) gives you the feeling that you’re in the right place.  On June 10th, I hobbled in and was greeted by Andy, who took my insurance and showed me the facility.  The first thing I noticed was that it was clean and the machines were new, a great first impression.  Check out the website below:

http://fle.wcds.net/index.html

My trainer Brynn knows what she’s doing.  I know this because I’m seeing results.  By my second session on June 15th, she had me on the stationary bike going faster and using more force than ever before.  We worked on isometrics, where she applied more force to my foot than had been applied in previous weeks by my first trainer, and I was able to push back against that force with greater strength and mobility.

Most importantly, by the end of the second session I started full weight bearing in my boot, meaning that I could put all my weight down through my right heel as I walked, while still using crutches for balance.  This is exactly where I’m supposed to be according to the protocol my surgeon issued.  Some people will disagree with me, saying this is too conservative (see comments to the right), but I don’t think I’d feel comfortable going any faster.  We’re on a good pace.

About Andrew Tucker

I am 25 years old, graduated from Duke University in 2007, and have been working on a start-up venture called StadiumRoar.com for 3 years.
This entry was posted in Week 6: June 7 - June 14 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Week 6: Finish Line Physical Therapy, New York, NY

  1. Hey, Andrew, if you’re happy, I’m happy!

Leave a comment